Tag Archives: dns

DNS Status codes

  clientDeleteProhibited  
  The   clientDeleteProhibited   status   may   be   added   to   an   object   by   either   the   registrar   who   owns   the   object   or   the   registry   administrator.   If   an   object   is   on   clientDeleteProhibited,   it   may   not   be   deleted   until   the   status   is   removed.  
   
  serverDeleteProhibited  
  The   serverDeleteProhibited   is   the   same   as   the   clientDeleteProhibited   status,   except   that   only   the   registry   administrator   may   add   or   remove   this   status   from   the   object.   If   an   object   is   on   clientDeleteProhibited,   it   may   not   be   deleted   until   the   status   is   removed.  
   
  clientTransferProhibited  
  The   clientTransferProhibited   status   may   be   added   to   an   object   by   either   the   registrar   who   owns   the   object   or   the   registry   administrator.   If   an   object   is   on   clientTransferProhibited,   it   may   not   be   transferred   until   the   status   is   removed.  
   
  serverTransferProhibited  
  The   serverTransferProhibited   is   the   same   as   the   clientTransferProhibited   status,   except   that   only   the   registry   administrator   may   add   or   remove   this   status   from   the   object.   If   an   object   is   on   clientTransferProhibited,   it   may   not   be   transferred   until   the   status   is   removed.  
   
  clientUpdateProhibited  
  The   clientUpdateProhibited   status   may   be   added   to   an   object   by   either   the   registrar   who   owns   the   object   or   the   registry   administrator.   If   an   object   is   on   clientUpdateProhibited,   it   may   not   be   updated   until   the   status   is   removed.  
   
  serverUpdateProhibited  
  The   serverUpdateProhibited   is   the   same   as   the   clientUpdateProhibited   status,   except   that   only   the   registry   administrator   may   add   or   remove   this   status   from   the   object.   If   an   object   is   on   clientUpdateProhibited,   it   may   not   be   updated   until   the   status   is   removed.  
   
  clientRenewProhibited  
  The   clientRenewProhibited   status   may   be   added   to   an   object   by   either   the   registrar   who   owns   the   object   or   the   registry   administrator.   If   an   object   is   on   clientRenewProhibited,   it   may   not   be   renewed   until   the   status   is   removed.  
   
  serverRenewProhibited  
  The   serverRenewProhibited   is   the   same   as   the   clientRenewProhibited   status,   except   that   only   the   registry   administrator   may   add   or   remove   this   status   from   the   object.   If   an   object   is   on   clientRenewProhibited,   it   may   not   be   renewed   until   the   status   is   removed.  
   
  clientHold  
  An   object   on   clientHold   is   not   published   in   the   DNS   zone   file.   If   it   is   a   domain,   it   will   not   resolve   until   the   clientHold   status   is   removed.   This   status   may   be   added   to   an   object   by   either   the   registrar   who   sponsors   the   object   or   the   registry   administrator.  
   
  serverHold  
  This   status   is   the   same   as   the   clientHold   status   in   that   it   prevents   the   domain   from   being   published   into   the   DNS   zone   file;   however,   it   can   only   be   added   to   an   object   by   the   registry   administrator.  
   
  pendingTransfer  
  Depending   on   the   rules   of   your   particular   registry,   the   pendingTransfer   status   may   be   needed.   This   status   is   used   to   describe   an   object   that   is   currently   being   transferred.  
   
  pendingDelete  
  This   status   is   given   to   an   object   when   it   is   scheduled   for   deletion,   as   long   as   it   is   not   deleted   within   the   initial   grace   period   given.   The   object   remains   pendingDelete   for   a   period   to   avoid   deletion   mistakes,   as   it   is   easy   to   reverse   the   deletion   process   during   this   time.  
   
  ok  
  This   status   is   given   to   an   object   when   no   other   status   attributes   apply.   This   status   cannot   be   added   or   removed,   except   by   the   server.